Prime Video
  1. Your account
Channel logo

Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia

Season 1
In this gorgeously shot documentary, Martin Clunes (Doc Martin) is on a quest to discover the islands of Australia. There are over 8,000 to choose from, and Martin visits 16 that offer a cross-section of island life. Along the way, he learns about the diversity, history, and challenges of island life Down Under.
20163 episodes
Free trial of Acorn TV or buy


  1. S1 E1 - Episode 1
    October 6, 2016
    Martin begins his journey in Sydney’s iconic harbor, then travels to Lord Howe Island, where he learns about the Kentia palm, the world’s most popular indoor plant. When visiting Norfolk Island, Martin learns the brutal truth about the most notorious prison island in the British Empire.
    Free trial of Acorn TV or buy
  2. S1 E2 - Episode 2
    October 13, 2016
    The Tiwi Islands of Bathurst and Melville take pride in their ancient customs, and Martin gets a firsthand look at island Aboriginal culture. Then Martin swims at the great Ningaloo Reef while exploring the cluster of islands known as the “Magical Muirons” and visits Carnac Island, home to hundreds of venomous tiger snakes.
    Free trial of Acorn TV or buy
  3. S1 E3 - Episode 3
    October 20, 2016
    On Mundoo Island, Martin spends a day with the Grundy family on their 600 acre farm; then he heads to Phillip Island, which boasts one of Australia’s greatest conservation success stories, despite being a popular tourist destination. Martin also visits Maria Island and works with scientists to learn about the disease threatening Australia’s iconic Tasmanian devil.
    Free trial of Acorn TV or buy


More info

Content advisory
Violencealcohol usesmokingfoul language
Audio languages
English Dialogue Boost: HighEnglishEnglish Dialogue Boost: Medium
English [CC]
Ian Leese
Martin Clunes
Acorn TV
By clicking play, you agree to our Terms of Use.