What are Amazon Maturity Ratings?

Learn about Amazon Maturity Ratings, and how they compare to your local movie and TV ratings guidelines.

Amazon Maturity Ratings combine movie and TV ratings into levels, with recommended audience age groups (Kids, Older Kids, Teens, Young Adults, and Adults).

Tip: To learn how to set viewing restrictions for Prime Video, go to Manage Prime Video Parental Controls.

Amazon Maturity Ratings are closely based on established ratings classification systems from across the globe, including:

  • United States - Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) and TV Guidelines Organization TV Parental Guidelines
  • United Kingdom - British Board of Film Classification (BBFC)
  • Germany - Freiwillige Selbstkontrolle der Filmwirtschaft (FSK)
  • Japan - Eiga Rinri Kanri Iinkai (EIRIN)
  • India - Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC)
  • France - Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée (CNC) and Conseil supérieur de l’audiovisuel (CSA)
  • Italy - Ministero dei Beni e delle Attività Culturali e del Turismo (MBACT) and Autorità per le Garanzie nelle Comunicazioni (AGCOM)
  • Spain - Instituto de la Cinematografía y de las Artes Audiovisuales (ICAA) and Comisión Nacional de los Mercados y la Competencia (CNMC)
  • Canada - Canadian Home Video Rating System (CHVRS) and Régie du cinéma (RCQ) and Canadian Broadcast Standards Council (CBSC)
  • Mexico - Dirección General de Radio, Televisión y Cinematografía (RTC)
  • Singapore - Info-communications Media Development Authority (IMDA)

Here's how Amazon Maturity Ratings compare to these ratings guidelines:

United States

United Kingdom










Note: For Singapore-specific maturity ratings, see Singapore Maturity Ratings for Prime Video Content.

Related Help Topics