Sign In
This title may not be available to watch from your location. Go to to see the video catalog in United States.

Queen Elizabeth's Secret Agents

Season 1
IMDb 7.520187+
Discover the secret state that helped keep Queen Elizabeth I in power for over 40 years. During a time when Britain was divided, unstable, and violent, the world's first secret service was born. Run by William and Robert Cecil, this father-and-son team had the duty of protecting the Queen and the Country. Join leading historians as they examine the biggest events of Elizabeth's reign.
English [CC]
Audio languages
Save on each episode with a TV Season Pass. Get current episodes now and future ones when available. Learn more

Included with PBS Masterpiece for $5.99/month after trial

By clicking play, you agree to our Terms of Use.

  1. 1. Episode 1
    January 27, 2018
    William Cecil, Queen Elizabeth I’s spy master, intercepts a conspiracy to assassinate the Queen. When he discovers that Elizabeth’s own cousin, Mary Queen of Scots is behind the plot, he lays a trap to capture and execute her.
  2. 2. Episode 2
    February 3, 2018
    Elizabeth’s enemies grow in strength but Robert Cecil, her spymaster, also fights an enemy within. An ambitious aristocrat is trying to takeover his network. At stake is control over the ageing Queen and the power to choose the next King of England.
  3. 3. Episode 3
    February 10, 2018
    England has a new monarch, King James I, and Elizabeth’s former spymaster, Robert Cecil, faces his toughest test. A group of religious extremists’ plan to blow-up the Houses of Parliament with the King inside – what we call the Gunpowder Plot.

More details

Amazon Maturity Rating
7+ Older Kids. Learn more